Go to New Site   |   Old Site   >  World      Countries      Animals      Continents      Oceans      Solar System      Planets      Stars      Satellites
Home > Continents


The world is basically divided in seven broad regions known as continents. Continents are understood to be large, continuous, discrete masses of land, ideally separated by expanses of water.

Map of Continents

List of Continents

Asia Asia
Asia is the world's largest with area of 43,820,000 sq km and most populous continent having 60% of total world population.
Africa Africa
Is second largest continent having 30,370,000 sq km area and account 14% of total population.
Europe Europe
Europe covers only 2% of Earth surface by covering about 10,180,000 square kilometres. Europe is the third-most populous continent with 11% of the world's population.
North America North America
North America covers an area of about 24,709,000 square kilometers and is the third-largest continent and the fourth in population.
Oceania Oceania / Australia
Australia is the smallest of all and lowest-lying human-inhabited continent. It covers 9,008,500 sq km and about 1% of world population.
South America South America
South America has an area of 17,840,000 square kilometers. It ranks fourth in area and fifth in population.
Is the coldest and driest continent having area of around 9,008,500 sq km. Virtually no part of human population lives here, there are just about 1000-2000 odd population.

© MOVING PLANETS    Contact Us    Privacy    Terms    Sign up for free and contribute